The art of color and alienating people

So Color, thought it was simple huh? Yeah, not so much. Let me explain.

The only thing we discussed in Production Design today was color. I thought that I would finish early, go home, sit by the fire with some hot cocoa and discuss classic Shakespearean literature with my roommate, Andre. Boy, was I wrong. (do I say that a lot? Oh well, get over it, I sure have).

First, we learned that there are 6 color theories in the world we live in, SPOILER ALERT, I’m going to discuss them with you all now. If I bore you, get over it. I’ll post a joke at the end to make this whole journey worthwhile. Here goes nothing:

1. Monochromatic: Only 1 color is used throughout, this allows the artist to create a STRIKING atmospheric effect to his painting/set.

2. Analogous…ha, I said “ogous”: This style of color usage is easy on the eyes, like myself. It can be described as “peaceful”. It is often used in nature settings.

3. Triadic: This one is very hard to pull off, like leather pants. Taking them off, not necessarily looking good in them. Colors used here are equally distanced from each other on the color spectrum wheel. People often refer to this style as “playful” and “bashful”. You would tend to find colors such as: Red, Yellow, Blue to be triadic, but these are not the only examples one could find.

4. Complementary: Complementary colors are opposing colors that work well together in a setting. You should not use these colors equally, often you should be using the weak color more. For example, use Green more than Red. Movie examples could include the Pixar movie, Brave.

5. Split complementary: I heard this term in Art Studies so often it kind of hurts my brain to bring it up again. Complementary colors are opposing colors that work well together in a setting. Often known to be more “joyous”. Colors pair-ups could include, but not limited to: Yellow, purple, green. Orange, Blue, Green. Yellow, Blue and Orange.

6. Tetratic: a.k.a DOUBLE complimentary. Two pairs of opposite colors are used here. We were told to be careful not to mix all the colors in ONE area. Balance is key to succeeding in the art of tetratic coloring. Never use 25% of each color because it would end up looking shitty and nobody likes shitty. For example: Green + Red and Yellow + Blue.

Did that bore you? I did add a few jokes here and there so that you wouldn’t burst into tears. You’re welcome.

Some key notes I jotted down were the following:

  • Value/High Contrast to draw attention.
  • Saturation must not be overdone.
  • Do not stress, have FUN!
  • check out www.blendguru.com for more on COLOR!

Colors can help:

  • Saturation can guide the viewer.
  • Change mood.
  • Draw attention.
  • Tell a story.

REMEMBER TO NOT OVERDO IT!

Now to the main reason for writing this article: ALIENATION!

Mrs.E told me today that I shout at people to often and should cool my jets a bit. So from now on I shall not single out any one person. But shout at everybody equally, thus being fair to all. You hear that Larry, you’re not the only person I’m going to hate on.

Soon I’m going to discuss Set Design and how it can be effective to ones narrative. Get ready for a lot of Joker pictures and Batmobiles. What? I like comics, sue me.

Sticking with The Joker, the quote of the day comes from Heath Ledger, not Jared Leto as I haven’t actually seen his portrayal of The Clown Prince of Crime as of yet. Heath once said: “I don’t know, as long as I get to evolve and grow as an actor and as a person, that’s the stuff I’m after.” Rest in Peace Heath.

I’m out.

Taken too soon.

Taken too soon.

Leave a Reply

