Warriors and the inspiration to become more

Can films inspire us? I’ve been doing some research on this question and the results may surprise you, (or not, if you’re a know-it-all. That’s right Ed, I’m talking to you!).

The answer, YES! Films of all genres have the ability to inspire us, whether it be to good, or in some sad cases, bad. But I found that films don’t inspire us to do good/bad, they just nudge the suggestion our way and it’s up to us to follow through. “Marc Karzen, a social media entrepreneur and owner RelishMix told the New York Times, Participant will probably affirm what conventional film studios are learning through other means: that the impact of content is less about persuasion than about nudging an audience to act on their inclinations.“- Roxanne Bauer . Now that we cleared that up, here’s a pretty list for you pretty people to look at:

I am going to list a few movies that inspired me and why, with the help of TheGardenIsland.com.

My 3 picks for movies that inspired me and why were the following:

3.Facing the Giants

“Another football movie (2006) of the underdog overcoming the odds. You’ve seen it before. No acting awards here. But watch the scene when the coach screams at a player carrying another on his back as he crawls the length of the field. The message: We are capable of more than we think, and we influence those around us.”

Honestly, this movie made me cry when I first saw it and you know what? I wasn’t the only one! Sure the acting wasn’t Oscar worthy, but the MESSAGE was so damn strong that being overwhelmed with emotion was acceptable.

2.The Sandlot

“It’s been 20 years since this film came out that tells the tale of boys, a field, a baseball and a junkyard dog. It’s flat fun and nostalgic. The final scene and line, “I don’t believe it! The Jet stole home, the Jet stole home!” is sheer delight. Did I mention I love baseball?”

Another fine example of random people, in this case kids, banding together and becoming best friends. It may of been a kids movie, but we could all learn from The Sandlot what it means to care for your fellow man.

And finally, the reason why I’m writing this article, my number 1 pick for inspirational movies is: Warrior, starring Tom Hardy and Joel Edgerton.

I watched this movie for the 100th time this afternoon and I have to say, I cried…again. This movie was SO good for so many reasons. And here’s why: “Brothers face off in this 2011 mixed-martial arts film. The story is compelling, the fight scenes, mixed with music, awesome. Brother against brother. Lord, the ending gets you right in the heart.” I totally agree with this statement but also, the relationship between the father and the brothers got me. The scene where Tom Hardy rests his father on his lap whilst the father is in tears…got me hard man.

So what am I going to do after seeing this movie? I had a revelation, I’m joining a gym. It’s one thing to say I was inspired by a movie, but now I’m actually going to do something about it. That’s right, with time, puny Tristan will be no more. I’ve also set a goal that I want to reach, wanna see?

Yup.

Yup.

Yeah, pretty big, huh? But I’ve set my mind and I’m going to do it. Starting this June. Well, it’s that time again, the end of this article and I hope you enjoyed it, swear free I might add. See, if I don’t have to swear, I wont. Those will be used in rants though, so to all nuns and potential nuns, don’t get your hopes up.

And it’s time for the quote of the day. And to keep up with this article it comes from Tom Hardy and he once said: “Fame and stuff like that is all very cool, but at the end of the day, we’re all human beings. Although what I do is incredibly surreal and fun and amazing and I’m really grateful for it, I don’t believe my own press release, do you know what I mean?” Inspirational guy. Go read up on him, you may be surprised to hear about his background as a teenager/young adult. If you see what he did, what he went through for some of his life, I think it will inspire you to do something, to be something better. To be a warrior.

I’m out.

One thought on “Warriors and the inspiration to become more

  1. Really awesome man. Digging these articles man, keep them up. Good luck with the gym, can’t wait to see you all bulked up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

