Mind Fucking Pt.1

This morning I woke up, expecting to have a regular first day of “C.M.S”, boy was I wrong. And this leads me to why I titled the following piece “Mind Fucking Pt.1”, because it did just that, fuck my mind. So in I went, no lube, no condom, about to get the night of my life, (but in the day). Our lecturer, Mr. Ivy (If he has a daughter and doesn’t call her “Poison”, I am going to bust a nut), started his talk on the subject of “Affect vs Effect”, the whole idea is that “affect” is completely different from “effect” as the former is: “the experience of feeling or emotion. Affect is a key part of the process of an organism’s interaction with stimuli.” Whilst the latter refers to: “A result or change of something.” I’m simplifying what he said as it was just too detailed to mention everything. Sorry Mike. So what can AFFECT us as an audience? One of the main things we discussed is that the PERFORMANCE of the actor/actress will affect us a great deal. Why? They make us doubt what we think, what we know or think to be true. In my case, the movie Nightcrawler made me second guess what I thought I knew about the human psyche, Jake Gyllenhaal delivered such an incredible PERFORMANCE, that I second guessed my own beliefs. Do me a favor, go watch a film. And when it is done, ask yourself if one of the characters in the film made you second guess yourself, made you question your beliefs. How did they AFFECT YOU. Comment your answers below. And now for the quote of the day: “When I die, I want to go peacefully like my grandfather did–in his sleep. Not yelling and screaming like the passengers in his car.”-Bob Monkhouse

I’m out.

This movie blew my mind.

This movie blew my mind.

3 thoughts on “Mind Fucking Pt.1

Leave a Reply

